Tickets & Appeals

THREE WAYS TO PAY For A PARKING TICKET


Pay Online

Online

Visit the Parking Portal to pay for a ticket online.

Pay Online

Mail Box

Mail

You may send a check or money order (no cash) via mail. Please include the ticket number and vehicle plate number with your payment. Make the check payable to the 'University of Utah' and send it postpaid to:

University of Utah
Commuter Services
311 South Fort Douglas Blvd.
Salt Lake City, Utah 84113

In-Person

Our office is located at 311 South Fort Douglas Blvd. We're open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Appeals


FIRST LEVEL APPEAL

Appeals must be submitted online within 20 calendar days from the date the ticket was issued. In-person appeals are no longer available.

Appeal Online

SECOND LEVEL APPEAL

After completing the first level, you have 10 calendar days to request a further appeal of your ticket by submitting your case to the Parking Appeals Committee — a group of student, staff, and faculty volunteers. The Parking Appeals Committee meets on a need-be basis, up to once a month.

Complete the following steps:

1. Pay the Parking Ticket

Pay the parking ticket to prevent fines from increasing while the appeal is waiting to be heard by the committee. Unpaid fines result in increased fees, class registration hold (for students), payroll deduction (for employees) and possible referral to a collection agency.

 

2. Fill out the Second Level Appeal Form

You have 10 calendar days from the date of the first level adjudication to request a second level appeal. After paying the parking ticket, download and fill out the Second Level Appeal form.

Download Second Level Appeal Form

 

3. Submit the Second Level Appeal Form

Complete and submit the Second Level Appeal form legibly and return it to us. There are two ways to do this:

1. Email your completed form to ucsappeals@umail.utah.edu.

2. Drop off your completed form at our office located at 311 S. Fort Douglas Blvd.

CONSEQUENCES FOR UNPAID TICKETS


INCREASED FINES

Fines increase after 10, 20, 30, and 40 calendar days of receiving the ticket. To avoid the fine increase, pay or appeal a ticket within 10 calendar days.

 

Code
Violation
Before 10 days
After 10 days
After 20 days
After 30 days
After 40 days
01 Meter Violation $30 $45 $60 $75 $90
02 Pay-By-Phone Violation $30 $45 $60 $75 $90
03 Overtime Parking $30 $45 $60 $75 $90
04 Regulation Violation $30 $45 $60 $75 $90
05 Permit Violation $30 $45 $60 $75 $90
06 Multiple Vehicles on Campus $60 $90 $120 $150 $180
07 Plate Not Visible $20 $35 $50 $65 $80
14 Blocking Traffic $30 $45 $60 $75 $90
16 Reserved Parking $60 $90 $120 $150 $180
17 Disabled Parking $150 $210 $270 $330 $390
18 Fire Lane $75 $105 $135 $165 $195
19 Pay Lot Violation $30 $45 $60 $75 $90
22 Relocation $80 $110 $140 $170 $200
25 Patient Parking Only 1 $50 $80 $110 $140 $170
26 Patient Parking Only 2 $100 $160 $220 $280 $340
27 Patient Parking Only 3 $150 $210 $270 $330 $390
29 Special Event Violation $100 $160 $220 $280 $340
 30  Unauthorized Vehicle on Sidewalk  $75  $105  $135  $165  $195
 31  Unauthorized Vehicle on Sidewalk $150  $210  $270  $330  $390
 37  Restricted Parking LA $50 $80  $110  $140  $170
 38 Restricted Parking LB  $100  $160  $220 $280  $340
 39 Restricted Parking LC  $150  $210  $270  $330  $390
40 Non-Designated Parking Area  $30  $45  $60  $75 $90

REFERRED TO THE OFFICE OF THE DEAN OF STUDENTS

Beginning March 1, 2022, students with three or more outstanding tickets will be referred to the Office of the Dean of Students, as they are in violation of the Student Code. Consequently, those in violation of the Student Code will have a hold on their account and are prohibited from registering for university courses. A representative from the Office of the Dean of Students will contact individuals with outstanding tickets to discuss further actions.